Updates:

Click here to visit our store! https://www.auberins.com

Help new to PID

Started by lgsailing, February 06, 2022, 08:49:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lgsailing

I'm new to PID. We run a maple farm and we have a 220 vacuum pump that we want to run based on temperature. Last year we had simple bayite temp controller were we ran it through the cooling function of on at 34F and off at 32F, with a small 12v DC pump. This year because of the 220, I bought a syl-2352 with an SSR. I have it wired and the pid turns on. I'm lost with programing it. I thought maybe setting the low temp as 34 and high temp as 32 it would work but I'm just not sure.

Kkane

You can still use SYL-2352 as ON/OFF controller. For cooling, you need to set parameter COOL as 11.

For temperature control, you need to set Hy = 1, AT = 0. Then change your set temperature to 33. So when your temp is over 34 (33+1), your pump will be ON. When your temp is below 32 (33-1), your pump will be off.

If your system is kind of fast response, you may also need to increase your output cycle time. Parameter T. By default, it is set to 2s. You may need to set it as 10-20s.

lgsailing

Thank you so much for the help. I was really lost with this and you just made it so much easier for me.

Is there anything I need to do to make sure everything is in F degrees? Just curious. I'm going to play with this tomorrow as I left it at the shack tonight.

What do you mean by fast acting? Do you mean delay the on by 10-20 seconds to make sure the temp is going in the up or down direction?

Kkane

For C of F settings, see section 4.14 on page 6 of its manual:

https://www.auberins.com/images/Manual/SYL-2352_manual.pdf

By default, it is heating mode with Fahrenheit display.